Sixty three members, their partners and friends attended, enjoying a catered meal along with three lucky draws before the presentations began. Chris Scane, Peter Demeris and Rob Bateup were the winners of the cash and wine. A mention was made of  an Anzac Day birthday, Bernie Mullins turned 86. 🎂.

Then it was down to the main reason for the night.

First were the Super Veterans Badges ( colloquially known as OBE’s) presented by Executive Chairman Ash Rowe to Brian Garrett, Robyn Johnson and Max Zalakos. Unfortunately Kay Bishop could not attend.


The following awards were then presented by the Bowls Section President Tim Fewster and Secretary Phil Rock.

The 100 up winner was Irene Garrett who told us about the very close game where she only won on the last end from Tak Shum.


Next  the Open Triples .

The winning  team consisted of Ian Sanderson, Peter Demeris and Matt Cursio.  Matt encouraged more members to play saying it is all good experience.  The team consisting of of Gary Baird, Trevor Dawson and Brian Salvage were the runners-up.


Then came the Mens Pairs, again Trevor Dawson but now with Fred Duthie as Skip. Fred thanked Trevor….I think, saying what a good pair they were. I really can’t remember that bit, but I know there was laughter at the comment.🤣
Runners-up pair was Cliff Wigney  and Peter Hanson, unfortunately neither could attend.


The final presentation was the Mens Singles winner.
Because Tim Fewster was the Runner-up he jokingly presented himself, “ Oh yes that is me! “  😲 Then he asked Tom Reynolds to come forward as the 2023 Singles winner emphasising that Tom has now won this coveted prize three times at Doncaster. Tim congratulated Tom whilst handing him another trophy for the mantle piece display.


As Matt commented it is the experience that counts. You learn from experience and anyone can be beaten on the day.


Ash Rowe finished the proceedings thanking all who had helped to organise the evening.